What is the fear of the Lord?


The fear of the Lord is a subject more than a word really, there is an awful lot to it. Essentially though, if I am able to summarize it good enough, it is where in all matters, we defer to the Lord instead of anyone or anything else. My buddy wants me to get drunk, but my Lord says no? Then I go with the Lord instead of my buddy on that one, and probably should try to find some new buddies.  Our felt “needs” should dissipate and we should be, if you will, overwhelmed with who God is and His majesty and holiness, that we kind of forget about ourselves, and what it is that we want. And so a natural fruit of this is that we then start to focus on what He wants, and even take delight in it.

“What does the fear of the Lord look like? It looks like loving good and hating evil.” (Welch 114) The fear of the Lord also translates into obedience. “In reverence they will submit to God’s authority and obey him. This is what the fear of the Lord looks like.” (Welch 111). I am sure that the fear of God has many facets to it, as do all gems. But I believe that the more we submit and learn who it is that we submit to, the more we will learn, not in an intellectual way, but an experiential way, just what exactly the fear of the Lord is.

About Daniel Mason

I write from the historic protestant worldview, that is, Reformed. I hope you will be both blessed and challenged by my writings. View all posts by Daniel Mason

4 responses to “What is the fear of the Lord?

Leave a Reply

