Prayer and Temptation


If we do not abide in prayer, we will abide in temptation. Let this be one aspect of our daily intercession: ‘God, preserve my soul, and keep my heart and all its ways so that I will not be entangled.’ When this is true in our lives, a passing temptation will not overcome us. We will remain free while others lie in bondage.

–John Owen

 

Let us head this call, with the sobriety and graveness it requires my friends. As the good John Owen said so well, “Be killing sin, or it will be killing you.” Make no mistake about it, if you are attempting to fight sin, to mortify it out of your own power, you are not only wasting your time, but in a sense, just digging a deeper grave.

About Daniel Mason

I write from the historic protestant worldview, that is, Reformed. I hope you will be both blessed and challenged by my writings. View all posts by Daniel Mason

One response to “Prayer and Temptation

  • Savannah

    Thanks for the reminder, Daniel!

    This directly reminds me of a few passages….

    …forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors, and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil…for Thine is the power and the glory forever and ever–amen…

    “For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of slavery……but, I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh….” ~Galatians 5:1 and 16

    What need I add to those?

Leave a Reply

