Self-control and Discipline


This post today is about self discipline. I have known for a while now that I am actually a rather undisciplined person. You wouldn’t know it at first glance, and would most likely think the opposite, but in fact I am a rather undisciplined person, one of the most prominent ways it shows is my procrastination. I admit that I still haven’t filed my taxes this year. Every time I thought about doing it, I was like ‘Naah..I don’t really feel like it right now.” I knew that I should do it, I know that there are late fees and penalties, but I didn’t feel like it. This is also irresponsible. I will be held accountable for how I handle my money and my time. I have not been doing as a good slave should be; instead, when his master is gone, the slave is lazy.

This has many impacts, and can lead to many different types of sins. But more to the point, it hit me kinda hard that if I am to be advising and counseling people, and I suggest to them that they are struggling with self-control in addition to their other issues, and need to grow in this area…maybe I should take a good hard look at my own life. One of my favorite passages, it seems I have neglected it , at least in part.

For this very reason, make every effort to supplement your faith with virtue, and virtue with knowledge, and knowledge with self-control, and self-control with steadfastness, and steadfastness with godliness, and godliness with brotherly affection, and brotherly affection with love. –2 Peter 1:5-7 

 

Well I have been working on following this verse, that is except the self-control part.  Oh, sure, in some areas I worked on it, but not in all areas, and with the type of zeal I should have been.  So to remedy this situation, I have taken some concrete steps, the sort you would find in a book by Jay Adams, to put on, and put off. I will be getting up and running in the morning…even when I don’t feel like it. I will be writing for about 15 min a week, at a minimum for this blog, and I will be keeping my place cleaned up. Yes, I am ashamed to say that if you would have seen my place this morning, it was a good mess. I can clean it up quickly, but I can trash just as quick, and often do. (I couldn’t find my waterproof sleeping bag cover)

It seems to me that a because my Lord and God is not a God of chaos, I should be more organized, and for me to obtain that goal, I will need to be more disciplined. I can see several benefits from self-discipline all ready; more time, more money, better organization, and it is a fruit that we should be looking for in our lives. Now if anyone is concerned about legalism, I assure you that I am not a legalist, though I suppose they all say that. It seems to me that a practical theology is important, if you can’t or shouldn’t change your day to day life with Scripture, then what use it? Is not Scripture supposed to radically change people? So if ya’ll are willing, I could use some prayer in growing in the fruit of self-control, and I encourage any of you to do the same. I hope to right more about self-control soon.

About Daniel Mason

I write from the historic protestant worldview, that is, Reformed. I hope you will be both blessed and challenged by my writings. View all posts by Daniel Mason

2 responses to “Self-control and Discipline

  • Kyle Cheng

    Reflective and convicting. Thanks for the post!

  • Sierra

    Great post. It seems like discipline is an area of life which is most necessary in order to live like Christ, but then it is also most difficult to grow in. I encourage you, as Paul would say, to excel still more! 🙂

    1 Timothy 4:7b-8, “On the other hand, discipline yourself for the purpose of godliness; for bodily discipline is only of little profit, but godliness is profitable for all things, since it holds promise for the present life and also for the life to come.”

Leave a Reply

