Being Led by The Spirit


“To be led by the Spirit (Galatians 5:18), for instance, should be understood not as being led apart from, but rather by means of the Scriptures. 2 The word “led” does not refer to inner feelings or hunches, or to visions or extra-biblical revelations.”

— Jay E. Adams

Adams covers an interesting topic that many folks would vehemently disagree with. Over all with the statement I agree, and we need to be very careful about following the ever elusive and highly subjective feelings that we deal with on a daily basis. Clearly I know I cannot follow all of them, nor base all my decisions from all of them because they have even today been wrong, sinful, and proven untrustworthy. But I disagree in the respect that I am most certain the Holy Spirit does place things on the hearts of men. However, we are told to “test the spirits”  and though I may be wrong, I think it may in part refer to this, as well of course other things. I apologize, I do not feel like I am handling this fairly, for I feel that it’s somewhat of a large and slightly more complex topic then it might at first seem. None the less, I felt like posting this quote by Adams, because it echoes a warning cry that needs to be heard about the dangers of ‘listening the inner voice’ at the cost of forsaking the Sacred Scriptures, and this is a most dangerous thing indeed.

About Daniel Mason

I write from the historic protestant worldview, that is, Reformed. I hope you will be both blessed and challenged by my writings. View all posts by Daniel Mason

One response to “Being Led by The Spirit

  • jwswift22

    Masondan, I could not agree with you more. Though we must always be led by the authority of scripture in our actions and thoughts ( something that I must admit I need more of) there is also a subjective, experiential and sometimes emotional awakening to some need for others or conviction about some course of action we need to take. I don’t think we can completely close the door on the motions in the spirit that produce impressions or feelings. These as you say, must be checked against scripture but it seems to me that “Joy inexpressible” points to a doctrine of real experience. I like this post.

Leave a Reply

