Sexperiment?


A Southern Baptist minister and his wife have staged a bed-in on the roof of their church to encourage parishioners to put the zing back in their marriages – by having sex for seven days straight.

Inspired by John Lennon and Yoko Ono’s infamous protest bed-ins for peace in 1969, Reverend Ed Young and his wife Lisa snuggled up on top of the Fellowship Church in Grapevine, Texas for a 24-hour ‘Sexperiment’.

http://yourjewishnews.com/15477.aspx

Umm what??? I suppose they may have a bit of a point, sex and marriage are issues that ought to be addressed, but I am strongly compelled to ask if this is the right way to be going about it? C. S. Lewis I know feels that the topic should not be taboo, and sure, I’ll give you that, but at what point do we draw the line? At what point is a pastor just trying to get publicity and attention and is going too far in doing so? Your thoughts are welcome.

About Daniel Mason

I write from the historic protestant worldview, that is, Reformed. I hope you will be both blessed and challenged by my writings. View all posts by Daniel Mason

2 responses to “Sexperiment?

  • JMishra

    To be honest, in my little world such as it is, I feel the way the pastor (and his wife) are going about this is grossly out of line. But then I’m one of those weirdos who thinks sex is something personal and not for public display. How can any church, given the tenants of their religion, devalue the intimacy of marital relations in such a way? I personally wouldn’t feel comfortable having such things as what someone else thinks I should be doing intimately with my husband publicly pushed at me like this. If the church wants to help couples, then encourage open communication and listening skills in marriage. Encourage empathy. If there are intimacy problems, then the couple will be able to deal with it or seeking private counseling. This, to me, seems a tawdry and cheap ploy to gain attention.

    • masondan

      I am strongly inclined to agree with you; it looks to me like its a ploy for attention more then anything else. Thanks for reading and posting by the way. It is true, sex is supposed create and strengthen intimacy, and helps heal but without communication, without selflessness, teamwork, forgiveness and lots of other things the bible touches on, in the end it would be just 7 days of sex. There would be no real long term difference in the relationship. I am only speculating of course, as I am not joining in on this ‘experiment.’ They are right in it having some value, but I am not sure they are giving it the right emphasis.

      Also you bring up the church helping couples, I know this may seem a bit different, but I think in a way, couples need to step back and focus on God. The reason I say this is because it is so seldom mentioned when it ought to be. You see couples who go to church and ascribe to the christian faith, but if the truth may be revealed, we may find they are worshiping each other, trying to have the other person fill that part in their heart that only God should fill. Just my 2 cents.

Leave a Reply

