Gun Rights and Freedom


Titus 3:1

Remind them to be submissive to rulers and authorities, to be obedient, to be ready for every good work…

Our gun rights…Don’t Tread on me…the slogan of our country and forefathers, sums up the gun advocates beliefs. You want them…come and get em! You have the left, and you have the right. Who is right? The vast majority of articles are either for one or the other…the conservative or the liberal. I originally thought about attempting to leave my bias out of this…but I no longer think that prudent.

To be completely honest with everyone, I am a rather die hard conservative, I have an awful lot of guns and firearms…even a .50 cal bolt action rifle. In fact, at the age of 22 I had a small arms room to equip a small army. And if someone was gonna take em…they’d be taking them by force.

I was the sort that was going to stand up and fight for my freedom, my rights, and my guns…come Hell or high water; didn’t matter what the government said. However, I am afraid things have changed. My stance on this will be unpopular and not many will agree. I am all for guns, gun rights, and the freedom in this beloved country…but when I stopped to think about resistance of the armed sort, in regards to keeping my firearms, and if it was biblical…well, I can’t say I was at first willing to accept the answer.

Honestly folks, take a look at the Bible yourself, but first, make sure you can be honest with yourself. Do you really think political activism is the answer? Do you really think living by the sword is not ok, but living by the gun is? Peter was gonna use a sword to defend Jesus, and that wasn’t ok, so why is it ok to use guns to defend …well…not Jesus…just our freedom. We are so in love with our ‘rights’ and our ‘freedoms’ that we hold on to. As a humble slave to Christ, nothing like these things should matter. Nice to have yes, but something to fight for, no. Go ahead, I know I will receive a lot of criticism for it, but look, take an honest look. I love my guns, hunting and shooting…but I can’t justify, biblically, the armed defense. We are to obey the authorities, they are placed there by God Himself…even if they are not Christians or are not obeying Him.

Was Pilate placed where he was by accident? God put him there, just like the current people are placed where they are. Was Pilate doing the Lord’s will? No, and yet at the same time, yes. As Americans we seem to be very proud…we don’t like to obey, especially if it’s against what we stand for. But we were not called to protest, we were called to obedience. I love rights and freedom, but if you had to choose, which one would you rather have….your rights and freedom? Or Jesus Christ the Lord?

John 18:36

Jesus answered, “My kingdom is not of this world. If my kingdom were of this world, my servants would have been fighting, that I might not be delivered over to the Jews. But my kingdom is not from the world.”

About Daniel Mason

I write from the historic protestant worldview, that is, Reformed. I hope you will be both blessed and challenged by my writings. View all posts by Daniel Mason

2 responses to “Gun Rights and Freedom

  • cherpidy

    Okay, so I have a question: were our forefathers wrong when they rebelled against England? when they signed the Declaration? George Washington and all the others who fought the Revolutionary War–were they wrong? should we have not done any of that? Or, did they have just cause to rebel? Should the US not exist at all then? Just a thought…

    • masondan

      This is a great question. I have wondered the same thing myself, and I am afraid I can’t really answer the question, not right now at least. As far as should the U.S. exist or not though, it does and it would not unless God did not want it to. As far as the rebelling goes, it appears at least at first glance, that it was not in line with what Paul taught.

Leave a Reply

