Long over due post…faith, death, and the holiday season.


Well folks I would like to start this post out with an apology. I have not posted in quite some time; instead I have been enjoying time with friends and family, shooting, snowboarding, and eating turkey. I procrastinated a good bit more then I should have and feel pretty bad about that. I hope ya’ll don’t mind too much.

Something else that took up a good bit of time was the drive to the state of Washington. The weather was actually a bit rough, took me about 3 days and I had to use 4 wheel drive a few times to get out of the snow. Well so there I was, driving on slick roads, going through Wyoming I think it was, sun going down, just in my eyes. A big old semi comes barreling by, and I’m on a bridge of course. Sounds like I’m making it up but I had a good number of what I thought where close calls.  Perhaps I am merely not as gung-ho as I used to be back in the day, but I definitely got a bit nervous a few times.

Now all that got me to thinking; as a Christian, death shouldn’t really be too scary right? I mean come on, you die and go to heaven….though we don’t know exactly what it’s like; we do know it’s pretty dang good. So what’s the big deal? Is it an indicator of weak faith? The Apostles and plenty of Christians since their time have given their lives up for Christ and the Gospel. If we know that death has been conquered, and truly believe it, then should our reaction to it not be different? Or is there a fine line here that needs to be sought, I leave it all open to discussion.

I want to end with on a bit of a sobering note; though it’s the holidays, and we are all spending time with family and friends, and nobody likes a kill joy. I ask the reader to stop for a moment, and consider life and death. Not the typical question of ‘do you know where you will go when you die.’ No, with great big family reunions and people catching up with family and friends they haven’t seen in years….do you know where they are going? Let us not get carried away with the holidays, for the Christian business is a serious business, for the stakes are permanent and eternal. Nonetheless, I hope I haven’t ruined your appetite, so to speak, pray that peace and grace be with you this holiday season.

About Daniel Mason

I write from the historic protestant worldview, that is, Reformed. I hope you will be both blessed and challenged by my writings. View all posts by Daniel Mason

One response to “Long over due post…faith, death, and the holiday season.

Leave a Reply

